• CHS Counseling Center 

     

    As we enter second quarter, please remember to keep those grades up!  Remember that 40 percent of your semester grade comes from your first quarter performance, and 40 more percent comes from second quarter.  Every grade makes a huge difference!

     

    Seniors, please be reminded that second quarter comes with a lot of college application deadlines.  Deadlines are closer than they appear!  Please remember to apply, submit your test scores, and request your transcripts in a timely manner!  Please don't hesitate to contact your counselor if you need any assistance.

     

     

     

    The deadline to change classes has officially passed.  Students may not drop any classes without penalty.

     

       

     

    Seniors and parents: Text @ffeg6h to 81010 to sign up for reminders about senior events!

     

     

      
      Ready to start researching South Carolina colleges and universities but don't know where to begin?  Click here to see a list of all in-state public and private colleges and universities! 
     
     
      
     
     
    To reach a counselor on the Ninth Grade Campus, please call the NGC front office at (803) 631-8500.  To reach a counselor on the main campus, please call Mrs. Nancy Hester at (803) 810-8211
     
     
     
     
     Registration for the SAT and ACT can be done online.  Visit sat.org for more info on the SAT and act.org for more info on the ACT.   Click this link for very helpful and free ACT practice content.
     CHS is NOT a testing site, but there are several high schools in the area that are.  It's your choice as to where you choose to test.  
     
     
     
    College Cafes are your opportunity to speak and network with admissions counselors and representatives who are here to speak exclusively to CHS students! This information is also available on the home page of your Naviance account.  Please pay close attention to times and dates, as they are subject to change.
     
      September 20:  University of South Carolina at Columbia, 11:45 in the Student Union
    September 26:  Gardner-Webb University during Flex in room 204
    October 2:  South Carolina Governor's School for the Arts and Humanities, 11:45 (for freshmen and sophomores only) in the Student Union
    October 8:  Queens University of Charlotte during Flex in room 204
    October 8:  North Greenville University, 11:45 in the Student Union
    October 10:  Winthrop University during Flex in room 204
    October 17:  Carleton College (located in Minnesota) during Flex in room 204
    October 23:  Brevard College (located in North Carolina), 11:45 in the Student Union
    November 5:  University of North Carolina at Wilmington during Flex in room 204
    November 6:  The University of Alabama, 11:45 in the Student Union
    November 14:  Winthrop University during Flex in room 204
    November 26:  US Naval Academy during Flex in room 204
    December 3:  Spartanburg Methodist College during Flex in room 204
     
     
    Important Dates
    • October 29:  College Fair
    • November 1:  FAFSA Help Session for seniors from 9-noon (More info to come on signing up)
    • November 2:  SAT
    • November 8:  Deadline to sign up for the December 7 SAT without the late fee
    • November 8:  Deadline to sign up for the December 14 ACT without the late fee
    • November 18:  Interim Reports issued
    • November 19:  Deadline to sign up for the December 7 SAT with the late fee
    • November 22:  Deadline to sign up for the December 14 ACT with the late fee
    • November 26:  College Cafe:  US Naval Academy
    • November 27-29:  Thanksgiving Break
    • December 3:  College Cafe:  Spartanburg Methodist College
    • December 7:  SAT
    • December 14:  ACT
    • December 19:  Winter graduation at CSD Auditorium
    • December 20:  Last day of second quarter and first semester
    • December 23-January 6:  Winter Break
    • January 7:  First day of third quarter/second semester
     

Counselors' Contact Information

Name Student Assignment Phone Number Email
Mr. Atavious Johnson Grade 9 (A-Le) 803-631-8500 atavious.johnson@clover.k12.sc.us
Mrs. Sherer Hopkins Grade 9 (Li-Z) 803-631-8500 sherer.hopkins@clover.k12.sc.us
Mrs. Jennifer Forrest (Dept. Chair) Grades 10-12 (A-Br) 803-810-8211 jennifer.forrest@clover.k12.sc.us
Mrs. Jaida Tims Grades 10-12 (Bu-E) 803-810-8211 jaida.tims@clover.k12.sc.us
Mr. Quentin McGill Grades 10-12 (F-Ka) 803-810-8211 quentin.mcgill@clover.k12.sc.us
Ms. Larisha Young Grades 10-12 (Ke-Ni) 803-810-8211 larisha.young@clover.k12.sc.us
Ms. Missy Jones Grades 10-12 (No-Se) 803-810-8211 michelle.jones@clover.k12.sc.us
Mrs. Tarah Underwood Grades 10-12 (Sh-Z) 803-810-8211 tarah.underwood@clover.k12.sc.us
Ms. Jonee Anderson Long term sub for grades 10-12 (Sh-Z) 803-810-8211 jonee.anderson@clover.k12.sc.us
Mrs. Nancy Hester Receptionist 803-810-8211 nancy.hester@clover.k12.sc.us
Ms. Kayla Williams Catawba Family Services counselor 803-810-8243 kayla.williams@scdmh.org